India Announces Squad For S Africa Tests; Rohit Is Named ODI, T20I Captain (Ld).

Mumbai, Dec 8, 2008 : Rohit Sharma, India’s star opener, was Named by the BCCI on Wednesday as Team India’s ODI/T20I captain.The BCCI also announced the Test Squad for the upcoming tour to South Africa, which will begin December 26.
Virat Kohli, who stepped down from the T20I captain position following the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in India, will be replaced by Rohit as the limited-overs captain.Sharma led India in the T20I series against New Zealand, which took place at home shortly after the World Cup.

 India Announces Squad For S Africa Tests; Rohit Is Named Odi, T20i Captain (ld)

Kohli expressed his desire to lead the ODI side up to the 2023 World Cup in India.The Chetan Sharma-led selection panel announced that Rohit would lead India’s ODI and T20I teams moving forward.

“The All-India Senior Selection Committee also voted to name Mr Rohit Singh as the Captain for the ODI & T20I team going forward,” the BCCI stated in a statement.

Kohli will still lead the Test side but Sharma, 34, has been promoted to vice-captain in longest format.He replaces Ajinkya Rahane.Ajinkya, a batter in crisis, has managed to keep his spot in the 18-member India team for their three-match ICC World Test Championship series in South Africa.

The experienced batsman will likely face stiff competition to be in the playing XI.The selectors will also pick Hanuma Vihari and ShreyasIyer.Iyer has impressed recently on his debut.Vihari, however, has been part of the runs for India A in South Africa.

BCCI’s statement stated that Shubman Gill and Ravindra Jadeja were not available to select due to injuries.They are currently undergoing rehabilitation.

Jayant Yadav, who has played in Mumbai against New Zealand, has managed to keep his place as the second spinner behind R Ashwin despite not having left-arm spinners Ravindra Jadeja or Axar Patel.

Jasprit Bumrah’s pacers and Mohammed Shami’s pacer, who were resting for the New Zealand series at their home, have returned to lead the pace attack.

This includes Umesh Yadav (Mohammad Siraj), Shardul Thakur (Shardul Thakur).Ishant Sharma.

Suryakumar Yadav was not selected for the Test squad.KS Bharat (who had been in the Test Squad against New Zealand but was not able to play) has also been dropped.The Delhi wicketkeeper-batsman is making a comeback.KL Rahul, who was expelled from the New Zealand Tests, will be back with Shardul Thakur.

The side will play three Tests South Africa.It will begin with the Boxing Day Test at Centurion on December 26th, followed by the two subsequent matches in Johannesburg and Cape Town.

India’s Test squad: Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wk), Wriddhiman Saha (wk), R Ashwin, Jayant Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Mohd.Shami, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur, Md.Siraj

Standby Players: Navdeep Saini, Saurabh Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Arzan Nagwaswalla

avn/cs #India #Squad #Africa #Rohit #Named #Delhi #Mumbai #Cricket #BCCI #ICC #IPL #Sports # Navdeep #Delhi #Mumbai #Acer


#Africa #Named #Navdeep #Mumbai #BCCI