EU Countries Tighten Travel Regulations For New Covid Variant Concerns

Brussels, Nov 27, : Due to Concerns about the new Covid-19 variant, a number of European countries have restricted Travel to southern Africa.
The B.1.1.529 variant was first identified in South Africa and has been classified by the World Health Organization as a “Variant Of Concern”, according to Xinhua news agency.

 Eu Countries Tighten Travel Regulations For New Covid Variant

The European Union (EU), has stated that it wants to activate “emergency brake” in order to stop air Travel from the Southern African region.

This will delay the spread of the variant to Europe.

In accordance with the EU’s recommendation the Irish government has announced new Travel restrictions to seven southern African countries.

The government stated that the selection of seven countries, including Botswana and Eswatini, Lesotho Mozambique Namibia, South Africa, South Africa, Zimbabwe, Mozambique and Mozambique, was based on detections of new variants or geographical proximity to countries where cases have been detected.

It stated that the Department of Foreign Affairs of Ireland has updated its Travel advisory to “avoid unnecessary travel” to these countries.

According to the statement, Irish residents who return home from these countries will have to go through strict home quarantine, even if they have been fully vaccinated or have recovered from the disease within the last six months or tested negative within 72 hours.

It also banned Friday the entry of all travelers who had been to the seven countries of southern Africa — the same as the Irish government listed — within the past two weeks, in response to the emergence and expansion of the new variant.

Greece announced that Travel restrictions will be in place for arrivals from nine African nations — seven of the above-mentioned plus Zambia and Malawi.

The Greek health ministry sent an e-mailed press release.

It stated that Travel to Greece from any of the nine countries is now only permitted for essential reasons or by special permit from Greek embassies.

All travelers from these countries, including Greek citizens will need to be kept in quarantine for a period of 10 days after their arrival.

They will also have to undergo three Covid-19 tests, regardless of whether or not they are fully vaccinated.

Other European countries have joined Cyprus in banning people from southern Africa from entering their borders.

Spain and other countries are also considering restrictions to flights from the region.

int/shs #Tighten #Travel #Covid #variant #concerns


#Tighten #Concerns #COvid #Travel